Departments N-Z

Town Requests and Information



Back row (l-r)  J. Lynch, G. Lima, I. Deb
Front row (l-r) A. McNamara, , L. Cohen, W. Boivin
Not in photo: K. Melanson

The Conservation Commission, comprised of a seven-member volunteer board, was founded in 1966 "for the promotion and development of natural resources and for the protection of watershed resources." Today, the Conservation Commission administers the Massachusetts Wetlands Protection Act and the associated Burlington Bylaws. Additionally, the Conservation Commission manages permanently protected open space, called Conservation Areas.

Seen Around Town...

Piebald Deer
Piebald Deer, December 2015


Conservation Commission
Commissioner, Year of appointment
Chairman Larry Cohen, 1991
Kerry Melanson, 1993
Indra Deb, 1996
Gail Lima, 2001
Ann McNamara, 2009
Vice-chair William Boivin, 2012
Jane Lynch, 2015

Conservation Staff
John Keeley
Conservation Administrator
Heather Charles Lis
Assistant Conservation Administrator
Lisa Crockett-Crowe
Principal Clerk

Telephone | Fax
781-270-1655 | 781-238-4667

Mailing Address
Town of Burlington
Conservation Department
25 Center Street
Burlington, MA 01803

Office Hours
Monday, Tuesday, Thursday
8:30am - 4:30pm


8:30am - 7:00pm


8:30am - 1:00pm